DonateNow

US Powerboating Courses

US Powerboating Courses

 

Safe Powerboat Handling

Drivers Education for BoatersTM
US Coast Guard & NASBLA Approved

This 16-hour hands-on, on-the-water course is for anyone who wants to learn how to safely operate a powerboat or improve their on-the-water boat handling skills. No experience necessary. The topics are covered using a variety of techniques in the classroom and dockside, emphasizing on-the-water practical application of all skills. Topics covered include:


On-the-Water Sessions

Classroom Sessions
  • Engine & electrical systems
  • Starting procedures
  • Docking
  • Leaving & returning to a slip
  • Close-quarters maneuvers
  • Anchoring
  • Steering a range
  • Proceeding to a destination
  • Person in water rescue
  • Safety, prep & weather
  • Maneuvering concepts
  • Registration & Capacities
  • Equipment requirements
  • Prep & fueling procedures
  • Navigation rules of the road
  • Aids to navigation
  • Environmental regulations

The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) has approved the course which also meets the boating safety requirements in Massachusetts, Rhode Island and New Hampshire.

Instructor:US POWERBOATING Certified Instructor
Age: 12-adult
Group Size: 4 – 8
Time: 9:00 am – 6:00 pm
2014 Dates for courses hosted by CBC:

  • SPH 1 - April 12th+13th 
  • SPH 2 - May 17th+18th
  • SPH 3 -May 31st+June 1st

Certifications Earned: NASBLA certificate, Safe Powerboat Handling certificate, State Certification

Fee: $330/per person ($380/per person if less than two weeks before course), includes all books, safety equipment and on-the-water instruction.

Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling

This 8- to 12-hour hands-on, on-the-water course is for anyone who has taken a classroom boating course but needs experience to safely operate a small motorboat and improve their boathandling skills. Students will be expected to study the course materials at home to challenge and pass a written exam covering equipment requirements, rules of the road, aids to navigations, preparation, environment regulations, safety and emergencies. This course focuses on hands-on application of all skills, consequently it is NOT approved by the US Coast Guard or the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) as meeting requirements for a state boating safety education certificate. Students learn:


On-the-Water Sessions

Classroom Sessions
  • Engine & electrical systems
  • Starting procedures
  • Docking
  • Leaving & returning to a slip
  • Close-quarters maneuvers
  • Anchoring
  • Steering a range
  • Proceeding to a destination
  • Person in water rescue
  • Safety, prep & weather
  • Maneuvering concepts
  • Challenge test-out

Prerequisites: state boating education certificate recommended
Instructor:US POWERBOATING Certified Instructor
Suggested Age: 12-adult (may be affected by state minimum age)
Group Size: 4 – 8
Time: 9:00 am – 6:00 pm
2014 Dates for courses hosted by CBC:

  • ASPH 1 -   May 24th

Certifications Earned: Safe Powerboat Handling certificate

Fee: $210/per person ($260/per person if less than two weeks before course), includes all books, safety equipment and on-the-water instruction.

Contact us at 508-992-6219 to see how easy and cost effective it is to schedule an Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling program at your club, marina or community waterfront facility.

back to top